Sign up to receive the latest updates

Contact Information

Tel: +44 1789 867523
Fax: +44 1789 450682

Heart Rhythm Congress
Unit 6B,
Essex House,
Cromwell Business Park,
Chipping Norton,

Heart Rhythm Congress Facebook
Heart Rhythm Congress LinkedIn
Heart Rhythm Congress Twitter

A-A Excellence in Practice Awards 2012

Team of the Year Award

Winner: Professor Gregory Lip and Dr Deirdre Lane- University of Birmingham Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences, City Hospital

This award recognises a team consisting of Professor Gregory Lip and Dr Deirdre Lane and colleagues who have collaborated to improve bleeding risk assessment for atrial fibrillation patients.

Their work has made an outstanding contribution to improving the anti-thrombotic management of patients with AF, particularly highlighting the importance of bleeding risk assessment in OAC-treatment decisions, development of a clinically applicable bleeding risk score-HAS-BLED, engagement in international collaborations to further validate HAS-BLED in both ‘real-life’ and clinical trial cohorts, inclusion of a formal assessment of bleeding risk in clinical guidelines on AF management, and the endorsement of the HAS-BLED score as means for clinicians to do this.


Allied Professional Award for Outstanding Contribution to Arrhythmia Management 2012

Winner: Ms Melloney Ferrar - Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Ms Melloney Ferrar helped to identify and establish a service for patients with Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS) in 2008 and was one of the first centres in UK to run a clinic solely for patients with POTS. Thanks to her dedication and interest in this condition many patients have been given a diagnosis and a treatment plan to manage this often debilitating condition. The service is still developing with Melloney always looking to expand her knowledge and contacts with known POTS experts. Melloney has shown a tremendous work ethic, a desire to constantly update and enhance her knowledge of POTS and dedication to the patients she has seen.


Award for Outstanding Medical Contribution to Cardiac Rhythm Management Services 2012

Winner: Dr Carolyn Dean